A new journey in faith

So, this summer I am directing a day camp and there has been an interesting turn of events that I would like to share about… Here we go!!

The weeks leading up to Sonshine Day Camp were filled with wonder. Wonder of what I were supposed to do (being a first time director was intimidating to say the least). Wonder of if I was doing the “right” things. And Wonder of what the future would bring. The week preceding this week, my assistant director and some of her church youth group went on a local missions trip called “Serve”. Upon return, many of them fell ill, and she fell victim as well. After visiting the hospital, it was concluded that my assistant director would not be able to participate for the first week of camp.

When I received the news (on Saturday), I was pretty devastated. To make things worse, I was scheduled to help lead worship the next day at The Way Community Church and I felt like I couldn’t give it my all. Despite my feelings, I decided to proceed with leading worship because I really like the worship leader that was leading that day and she doesn’t lead with us very often. On Sunday morning, I was making lots of mistakes during rehearsal because my mind was on what I had to do with SDC and was kinda freaking out. Even though I hadn’t told the worship leader my situation, after rehearsal, she came up to me and told me that she felt like I was holding back in my guitar playing. She then told me to just let everything go and just play my heart out for God regardless of any mistakes that I would make. I felt comforted by what she said and I did play hard, I did make (many) mistakes, and I did pour out my soul to God. The two songs that stood out to me that day were the songs “Everyday” and “Lead me to the Cross” by Hillsong. Both songs reminded me to lay myself down and live for God and to shine my light. This gave me comfort that God would always be there even if my assistant couldn’t. I didn’t have to go through this situation alone.

Almost right after service, I got a text message from one of our volunteers who was not scheduled to help out for week 1. She had found out our situation through an announcement made at Broadmoor Baptist Church. Now this was one of our volunteers who was extremely shy and didn’t feel comfortable stepping up in many situations, yet when the need arose, she was the very first person to step up. Not only that, but she asked me to help instead of the other way around.

Throughout the week, I learned to rely and trust my volunteer team heavily. Even though we had lots of new volunteers, they all rose to the challenge and helped make the first week of SDC a success. I am so grateful for each and every one of them!! Whenever one volunteer could not come out another person would come and take their place.

On Wednesday, my greatest highlight happened. I am mainly in charge of the worship portion of the day camp and my assistant director is mainly in charge of the crafts portion of the day camp. Interestingly, the craft idea for this particular week was an idea I had and it made me feel a little bit more confident because if she had planned it, then I would be constantly worrying if I was doing the right thing.

Actually, the craft idea I had in mind had to do with worship, it was to create a song album for the campers to take home (check out https://soundcloud.com/edward-dengler/sets/step-by-step-an-sdc-album) and enjoy and to have them decorate the cover as they pleased. Many campers had a blast singing and it really made my day. I played the CD as they decorated and the campers and volunteers would sing along and do the actions. This helped me see the light that I shone in the camp. I couldn’t previously see the light I cast because my shadow of doubt covered it from my sight, but now that I am aware of it, I will try my best to continue to let it shine for the rest of SDC. I always here compliments about my musical talents and I’m always flattered but would kind of think of my other friends whom I perceive as more talented and brush the compliments aside.

I pray that I can stop being so insecure about the talents given to me and to help others see their light as well.

Leave a Reply

