The Secret Life of ME!!

Family_Circus_Brain

Been a while since I wrote my last blog.  Amidst final exams (which finished a week and a half ago) this is how my head feels hahaha…

 

Anyways today I want to talk about a movie that I watched the other day with my family.  This movie has some great imagery for our relationship with God.  After watching it, it became one of my all-time favourites.  The movie is titled “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”, directed and starring Ben Stiller, this movie is loosely based off of a short story written in 1939 by James Thurber.

In this movie, Walter Mitty (Ben Stiller) is a negative assets manager (the person that manages photo negatives and prepares it for printing) for the ‘LIFE’ Magazine.  He lives a pretty ordinary and boring life; he doesn’t travel much, has no love life and daydreams about a more exciting life to make up for it.  ‘LIFE’ gets bought out by a larger company and Walter Mitty is assigned to process the final magazine cover of ‘LIFE’.  The photographer who took the picture (Played by Sean Penn) sends Walter Mitty the negative roll along with a birthday and ‘thank you’ gift (a wallet) for the sixteen years of service that Walter Mitty had done for him.  The problem was that the picture that was to be the magazine cover was missing and no one knew what it looked like except for the photographer (who travels around a lot and does not have any direct way of communicating with him).  From this point on, the movie is about how Walter Mitty travels around the world following clue after clue to find the photographer to ask about the missing photograph.  In the end he does find the photographer and the photographer told him that the picture was in the wallet, so he actually did have it the whole time.  All Walter Mitty had to say was, “you’re crazy!!” (in reference to putting the photo for the front cover in some obscure location like a wallet).  Now here’s the thing, throughout his journey, Walter Mitty gets fed up with the things that were happening in his life and decided to throw the wallet away.

This got me thinking, does God give us gifts to thank us for all the hard work that we do for him?  YES he does… This can be found in the parable of the Talents Jesus tells us in this parable that we all have talents and that we are to use them all.  Those that use their talents will gain more, and those that don’t lose EVERYTHING that they have.  So how many talents/gifts do I have that I don’t know I have?  How many talents/gifts have I thrown away in frustration because I didn’t know that I had it all along?  But here’s the great thing, there’s redemption.

As it turns out, in the movie, Walter Mitty’s mother sees him throw away his wallet and she retrieves it and gives it back to him when he said he needed one.  This reminds me of when I think to myself that I don’t have the skill to do something anymore so I stop doing it, but then later on I find out that I never lost it.

Anyways, just a thought that I had, I hope you can relate to this.  Again I highly recommend watching “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” I hope I didn’t spoil too much for you.

Leave a Reply

