Like a child

If you haven’t caught on yet from reading my previous blogs or if this is the first blog that you are reading by me, I learn a lot from children and youth.

As a youth leader and coach I love to watch youth from my youthgroup play sports.  Whenever I (or any other youth leader) go watch a youth play a sport they always feel like they have to play their hardest and win their game.  A couple of examples.  One youth lost her hockey game and she felt so bad and kept on apologizing to me and the other leaders that were there for losing.  Another youth told me not to bother going to any of his basketball games because they had a bad record.  I love how these youth look up to us in this way where they feel like they let us down when they lose.  In reality, we love to watch them play because they love playing their sports, we watch proudly as they compete, we cheer every point they score and we sympathize with every point lost.  We want to be there for them in all situations, win or lose.  We want to share in all their joys and sorrows and support them in any way that we can.

This is just like our relationship with God.  Sometimes we feel ashamed when we do something that we perceive as letting God down.  Maybe we put our faith on the line and it doesn’t turn out the way we imagined, so we perceive it as a failure and try to push God away.  Through all of this, God looks at us and says, “I want to be with you through all situations.  Let me get close to you, I am proud of you for who you are!!”  We have to accept him and let him cheer us on.

This song touches on this subject.  Pay close attention to the lyrics and may it help you let God come closer to you (or get closer to God).

Leave a Reply

